Beetroot Carrot Stir Fry

Posted on


DSC01838

When I was a kid…I used to hate vegetables…I am sure most of you out there were like me right?!?But…Beetroot was an exception…I used to love beetroot…mainly because of its colour…and also the colour it imparts to the rice when mixed with the cooked beetroot ๐Ÿ™‚

I used to remember my amma making this…The sizzling sound of the carrot and the beetroot in the oil…ooh…and the wonderful aroma….those mouth watering memories….I miss them soo badly…So i decided to try this out.

In this stir fried dish,both beetroot and carrot are sliced in even sizes so that they get cooked uniformly(since NO water is to be used for cooking).And let me tell you…this is a power packed stir fry full of iron and Vitamin A ๐Ÿ™‚ …So go ahead and try out this very easy stir fry…

Ingredients:

  • Beetroot – 1 cup(sliced)
  • Carrot – 1 cup(sliced)
  • Shallots – 6-7 (sliced)
  • Black Pepper- Crushed(1tsp)
  • Garlic – 2 -3 cloves(crushed with skin on)
  • Salt to taste
  • Oil.

Procedure:

Heat oil in a pan and add all the ingredients and saute the above said ingredients and cook(closed with a lid) on low flame…Occasionally mixing in between..Cook with no water… till done and serve hot with rice and Enjoy!!

 

Leave a Reply

