Beef Curry(Thattukada Style)

Posted on Updated on


 

DSC01868

Yesterday Sri brought home some fresh Beef….and I was in a confusion…about what to do with it…i mean should should I fry it up or make beef curry…Beef anyhow made is very Tasty….I thought and thought…and then I remembered the very Tasty beef curry I used to have for lunch in YWCA Hostel…when I was an inmate there…And I started Drooling…I remember..the Taste used to be soooo perfect….the spice combination..the gravy…everything…Even after eating the beef curry with rice for lunch…for hours I used to think about its spicy..naadan mouthwatering Taste…and the OHH – SOO – SPECIAL Aroma in our Mess Hall and when I left the Hostel I remembered that i had asked  ‘Rosy chechi(the cook)’ the recipe of this perfect beef curry…which she willingly gave me…She was infact very happy and proud when I asked her the recipe…She told me that the recipe was a secret……anyways she wont be visiting my blog 🙂 ….that the recipe was her husband’s recipe…He owned a thattukada in the famous Shankumugham beach,Trivandrum..And I kept the recipe safely….and I completely forgot about it….and I didnt try it out until Yesterday…

It was a very simple recipe…No complex ingredients….So here I am enclosing the secret…the Trademark recipe of Rosy Chechi!!!Cheers to her!!

Ingredients:

  • Beef – 1kg(Cut into cubes).
  • Shallots – 1 cup.(sliced)
  • Onions – 2 (sliced).
  • Green Chilli -2
  • Curry leaves – a hand full.
  • Salt to taste
  • Water – 1 1/2 cup.

To Grind:

  • Tomato – 1 big(Or 2 medium)
  • Ginger(Crushed) – 1 1/2 tbsp
  • Garlic(Sliced)
  • Kashmiri Chilli Powder – 1 1/2 tbsp
  • Coriander Powder – 1 1/2 tsp.
  • Turmeric Powder – 1/2 tsp.
  • Pepper powder – 1 tsp.
  • Garam Masala – 1 1/2 tsp.
  • Aniseeds(Perumjeerakam) – 1 tsp.

Procedure:

  1. Grind Ingredients under ‘To Grind’ and keep aside.
  2. Heat oil in a pressure Cooker and add the Sliced Onions ,Shallots,Green Chillies and Curry Leaves and saute till Onion is transparent.
  3. Add the ground paste and salt to this and saute on medium flame till raw smell disappears.
  4. Now add beef to this and saute well so that the masala clings on to the pieces of beef.
  5. Now add water and close the lid and cook for 6-7 whistles(the beef must be cooked till very tender).
  6. After the Pressure releases,open up and cook on high flame till gravy is thick.
  7. Serve hot with Rice/Chapathis/Appam/Kappa/bread/Kerala Parotta and Enjoy!!!

 

Notes:

You can add a little Vinegar(1Tbsp) while cooking the beef…instead of Tomato to give the tangy taste to the curry.I used tomato.

 

4 thoughts on “Beef Curry(Thattukada Style)

    Gloria said:
    April 15, 2014 at 4:09 pm

    Hi…first time here..You have a wonderful space dear..this beef curry looks so yummy…

    Roopa said:
    July 24, 2014 at 4:26 am

    Hi..i tried this out….It was easy to put together and tastes also yummy..!!Thanx dear..
    The way you present also is fabulous…!!!!

Leave a Reply

