Egg Curry in Creamy Tomato gravy(Punjabi Dhaba Style)

Posted on Updated on


DSC02040
 
I was in a really sticky situation…It was evening 5 and we had unexpected guests coming over.You might think whats sooo unusual…with guests coming over right??!!The Problem was that I didnt have anything in my freezer..no meat ,no fish..nothing special to make..just a few couple of eggs in my fridge…It was then I remembered the creamy egg curry that my Punjabi neighbours used to prepare for me 2 years back in Tanzania when I was pregnant with my youngest kiddo 😉 I used to love the aroma of that curry,tingling all my senses, leaving me drooling.Punjabi dishes are always a delight…sooooo tasty…and more important than that…very easy to prepare compaired to South Indian Dishes.After I had got the recipe from them,I had prepared this creamy delight a zillion times.So I decided I would prepare this curry and thats what I did…and the compliments I got for it from my guests..I am really thankful to such wonderful people,my punjabi neighbours.This post is for you dears!!!
 
Ingredients:
  • Eggs – 6 (Hard boiled)
  • Onions – 2 (medium Chopped)
  • Tomato – 3 big ones(pureed)
  • Cardamom – 4-5 (Crushed with skin)
  • Garlic – 3-4 chopped.
  • Ginger – 1 inch piece grated.
  • Salt to taste
  • Cream – 1/2 cup.
  • Chilli powder – 1 1/2 tsp
  • Turmeric powder – 1/2 tsp.
  • Coriander powder – 1/2 tsp.
  • Cumin powder – 1/2 tsp.
  • Garam masala – 1 1/2 tsp.
  • Dried Fenugreek leaves(Kasuri methi) – 1 tsp.
  • Butter – 2tbsp
  • Cilantro – 1 handful.
  • Water – 1 cup.

Procedure:

  1. Peel the hard boiled eggs and make tiny cuts here and there(This is for the better penetration of the masala) and keep aside.
  2. Heat butter in pan and saute the crushed cardamom  for a few seconds.
  3. To this add the ginger and garlic and saute well and then add the onions.Saute well and transfer this to a blender.Once cooled,blend it into a paste and transfer it back into the same pan.Now add the Chilli powder,Turmeric powdr,Coriander powder and Cumin powder.Saute well.
  4. To this add the pureed tomatoes and cook well for 8-10 minutes,alternating the flame from high to medium.Now add 1 cup of water and bring to boil.Add salt.Now add the eggs and boil for 4-5 minutes,also pour the gravy on top of the eggs.
  5. Turn to low flame and add cream and combine.Then add dried fenugreek leaves and garam masala and simmer for 5 minutes.Garnish with cilantro.Serve hot with chapathis/Naan/Rotis/Bread.

DSC02037

 
 
5 thoughts on “Egg Curry in Creamy Tomato gravy(Punjabi Dhaba Style)

    theintrovertedchilli said:
    June 7, 2014 at 9:45 am

    mmm looks lovely!
    -Shini

    Shella Grover said:
    July 19, 2014 at 8:16 pm

    Ohhh wow you were in Tz. I am in Tz now

Leave a Reply

