Mambazha Pulissery

Posted on Updated on


DSC02191

 

Todays post is a Naadan Mambazha pulissery..and it comes with a lot of Nostalgia!!Memories of my childhood comes flowing to my mind when ever I see ripe mangoes..because it reminds me of the vacations I had in Kerala,Gods own Country.The lush green paddy fields..the cool breeze making wonderful music through the Bamboo trees…the very tall Jackfruit trees,the gigantic coconut tress,swaying in the wind and ofcourse the very aromatic πŸ™‚ mango trees or the “Maavu” as it is called in Malayalam,the language of Kerala.

I specially remember one of my vacations in my Ancestral home in Thalavady,a small village in Kuttanadu,with its beautiful backwaters.That was were my Great grand mother,whom I lovingly called Ammachi lived..The house was surrounded by the Kaayal(Back waters) with lots of trees near by..there was this small mango tree I remember..it was not tall..and I could climb it with ease..and there was a small swing tied on this tree…the tree used to be full of sweet,ripe and juicy mangoes..I dont remember how many mangoes I used to eat a day..i think may be a countless..It was soooo tasty..and when it was afternoon,the lunch would be served with Mambazha pulisserry ..I still dont find the exact words to express that taste..it was just pure heaven!!I lost my ammachi 13 years back..and today I got a few ripe and juicy mangoes from our backyard..it instantly reminded me of the Mambazha Pulissery that I used to have in my childhood.I never asked my ammachi the recipe..I didnt get the chance to..but I decided to make it Β with remembering the taste and a basic idea about the recipe from my Mom..and I found the taste of her paachakam(cooking) today..I am really happy and here I share with you this very tasty,very juicy Mambazha Pulissery recipe!Try it out!!

Ingredients:

  • Mango – Β 5
  • Turmeric powder – 1/8th tsp.
  • Coconut grated – 1 cup.
  • Cumin seeds – 1/4 tsp.
  • Garlic pearls – 2
  • Salt
  • Sugar
  • Coconut oil – 1tbsp.
  • Mustard seeds – 2tsp
  • Dry Red chilies – 2
  • Asafoetida (Kaayam) – a pinch
  • Yoghurt (Beaten well with a spoon)- 1/4 cup
  • Water

Procedure:

  1. Peel 4 mangoes out of the 5 using clean hands(Do not use knife) and keep aside.
  2. In a grinder,grind grated coconut,cumin seeds,garlic,turmeric powder with a little water to a smooth paste and keep it aside.
  3. Cut the remaining 1 mango into small pieces and cook with 1/2 cup water,green chilli and very little salt ,until soft.
  4. When cooked well,lower the flame and mash it well .To this add the coconut paste and salt.Bring it to boil ,Now add the whole mangos and keep in low flame for 10 -15 minutes till the gravy clings on to the mangoes.(pour the gravy on top of the mangoes in between) and then put out the flame.
  5. Now add the yoghurt to this and mix well.Add a little sugar if the curry is a little sour or salty and then keep aside.
  6. In a pan,heat oil,splutter mustard,add curry leaves and a pinch of asafoetida and then pour it into the mango gravy.
  7. Mambazha Pulisserry ready!Serve hot with Rice and Enjoyyyy!!!!

DSC02194

Notes:

  • Use sweet and ripe mangoes for this recipe.
  • Adjust the sweetness of this pulisserry with sugar depending upon the sweetness level of the mangoes,since this curry is supposed to be on the sweeter side.

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Mambazha Pulissery

    My Kitchen Moments said:
    June 21, 2014 at 6:34 am

    Loved reading through your post πŸ™‚ Mambazha pulisseri is one of my favorite too!

    smitha said:
    July 19, 2014 at 3:26 am

    Very nice….Keep posting delicious recepies…

Leave a Reply

