Bread Upma

Posted on


DSC02232

 

 

Today my post is that of a very Easy peasy Bread Upma,that can be whipped up in no time.Its a delicious comfort dish that can be prepared with left over bread or even Stale Bread.The bread is cut into tiny cubes,tossed about in oil with a few spices and along with a delicious tangy twist using Fresh lime juice.Its super delicious Mind You!!

From my childhood,I have always been afraidΒ  terrified of the feeling of being hungry incase I wake up in the middle of the night.I know you might feel like laughing hearing this…But I dont know why its like that for me.That fear grew up with me and it stays with me even now πŸ™‚ .In my childhood,I always kept a Cheese sandwich or a PBJ Sandwich on the table next to my bed.And my brother used to laugh at me.Back at my College/work Β hostel,my friends used to tease me when I kept a packet of cookies near my bed for the night πŸ™‚ .Now my hubby teases me when he sees me get up in the middle of the night and head off to the kitchen.But when I make Bread Upma,I get the chance to tease him back because as soon as the aroma of the delicious Bread Upma fills the air,I see my hubby slowly tip toeing to the kitchen (I always make sure I leave a bowl of Bread Upma specially for him πŸ˜‰ )

DSC02233

Incase you find the upma to be too dry(ofcourse depending upon how old the Bread is),just sprinkle some water and toss it about,it gets soft then.So try out this upma as a delcious midnight snack or as a breakfast dish or for brunch or even as a n evening snack!And Enjoy!

Ingredients:

  • Bread Slices – 10.(Cut into tiny cubes)
  • Onion – 1 small(Chopped very finely)
  • Tomato – Deseeded and Chopped Finely)
  • Ginger – 1 tsp (chopped finely)
  • Green Chilli – 1 (Chopped Finely)
  • Lime juice – 2tsp.
  • Mustard seeds – 1/4 tsp .
  • Oil – 4tbsp
  • Chilli powder – 1/2 tsp
  • Turmeric powder – 1/4 tsp.
  • Cilantro/Coriander leaves – 3 tbsp(Chopped)
  • Salt

Method:

Heat oil in a pan and add the mustard seeds.After they splutter,add Chopped ginger,Onion and Green chilli.

Saute well till onion turns transparent,then add chillipowder and turmeric powder,saute for 8 seconds,then add the tomatoes and saute slowly n lightly.Then toss in the bread cubes gently ,combining evenly so that the spice powders Β cling on to the bread cubes.

Now add the coriander leaves and salt and saute gently and then lastly add the lime juice and mix well.

Transfer to a serving plate and Enjoy!!

 

 

 

 

 

17 thoughts on “Bread Upma

    Traditionally Modern Food said:
    July 8, 2014 at 3:08 am

    One of my favorite breakfast:) love your version..nice pics

    Malar said:
    July 8, 2014 at 3:26 am

    I do the same thing in the night , wake up and eat lots of cookies πŸ˜‰ and then try again to sleep. This looks very delicious πŸ™‚

      food passion and love responded:
      July 8, 2014 at 3:33 am

      Really…So I am not the only one πŸ™‚ Thanks malar!!

        Malar said:
        July 8, 2014 at 3:50 am

        Yep you are not the only one πŸ˜›

        food passion and love responded:
        July 9, 2014 at 1:19 am

        ❀ he he..dats a relief πŸ™‚

    Aruna Panangipally said:
    July 8, 2014 at 4:22 am

    Bread upma is one of my favourites. I am always amused at how we Indians can take any cuisine or food item and “Indianize” it. πŸ™‚ Look at our pizzas, frankies and burgers.

    Chitra Jagadish said:
    July 8, 2014 at 6:28 am

    Looks delicious. …I follow same but include bell peppers….This looks yum yum…

      food passion and love responded:
      July 9, 2014 at 1:18 am

      Thanks dear!The addition of bell peppers..dats a good idea!Wil try it !!

    My Kitchen Moments said:
    July 8, 2014 at 6:55 am

    I make this bread upma very often. It is easy to prepare

    My Kitchen Moments said:
    July 8, 2014 at 6:55 am

    and i love your way of preparing it!!

      food passion and love responded:
      July 9, 2014 at 1:17 am

      Really Aishwarya…same here..its a regular midnight snack for me πŸ™‚ Thanks dear!!

        My Kitchen Moments said:
        July 9, 2014 at 10:36 am

        πŸ™‚ It is an evening snack for me and sometimes i have it as breakfast as well ❀

        food passion and love responded:
        July 9, 2014 at 11:41 pm

        ❀

    Liz said:
    July 9, 2014 at 1:50 am

    Great photo and lovely recipe!

Leave a Reply

