FRUIT CUSTARD | FRUIT SALAD WITH CUSTARD

Posted on


DSC02546

Fruit Custard or Fruit Salad with Custard as I call it is one of those sweet dishes or desserts I  and my brother have grown up with.It was one of our favourites and we kids used to make it ourselves,ofcourse our mom used to help us with the Custard sauce!My mom, I remember used to make mixed fruit jelly for the Topping along with it 🙂 Wish I could go back to those days…my childhood!

My kids are the fussiest eaters.They dont eat any kind of fruits.I was sadly talking about this to my Mom over the phone the other day.Thats when she asked me to try making this Fruit Salad for them.She said that was the way she used to make me n my brother who were the fussy eaters then,eat fruits..he he..History repeats doesnt it? Well…I decided to give it a go..I made the fruit salad with Custard Topping..At first seeing the fruits,my kids were a little unsure of eating..but I after they just tasted it,they ate two bowls!!!Oh…am I soo happy!!I have decided to make this regularly…Thanks to my dearest Mom n ofcourse to this Wonderfully delicious Recipe,now my kids love fruits,though in the form of this Fruit Salad,So does my first Child…ofcourse  My dearest Hubby ❤

Heres the recipe!Try it and bring a lot of happiness to your family!Happy cooking!

DSC02545

Ingredients:

  • Apple – 2 (Peeled,and cut into tiny pieces)
  • Orange – 2
  • Banana – 2(Peeled and cut into tiny pieces)
  • Pineapple – 3/4 cup(Tiny pieces)
  • Mangoes – 1/2 cup(Tiny pieces)
  • Dates –  7-8(Cut into tiny pieces)
  • Cherries – 1/4 cup(glazed cherries)
  • Water – 1/4 cup
  • Sugar-4 tbsp.

For Custard Sauce:

  • Milk – 2 cups.
  • Vanilla Custard Powder – 3 tbsp
  • Sugar – 4 tbsp.

Method:

  1. In a small bowl,dissolve the custard powder in 1/4 cup of milk and keep aside.
  2. Bring the rest of the milk to boil in a sauce pan,and add sugar and mix well.Slowly to this add the above prepared milk and custard powder mixture and continue to cook until thick for about 6 – 7 minutes,constantly stirring.Remove from fire, cool completely, and refrigerate.
  3. Now in another sauce pan,cook the 1/4 cup water along with 4tbsp sugar for about 3-4 mins until the syrup thickens a bit. It doesn’t need to be one-string.
  4. Remove from fire,allow to cool completely.Add the chopped fruits,cherries and dates to this and refrigerate.
  5. To serve,add 1/2 cup of the fruit salad to a bowl and top off with 1/2 cup custard sauce and Enjoy!

Notes:

  • Add and subtract fruits according to your preference but I highly recommend the bananas and cherries!
  • You can add more custard powder to make the sauce thicker.I prefer only a slightly thick custard with more focus on fruits.

 

 

14 thoughts on “FRUIT CUSTARD | FRUIT SALAD WITH CUSTARD

    Malar said:
    August 13, 2014 at 3:32 am

    So tempting Shannu!!!

    Liz said:
    August 13, 2014 at 6:27 am

    This looks so delicious and the photos are awesome too! thanks for sharing!

    cookingwithauntjuju.com said:
    August 13, 2014 at 10:30 am

    This sounds really good except for the dates – great recipe and I could almost make it this morning 🙂

    Hungrycookie said:
    August 13, 2014 at 3:20 pm

    Such a great idea. Not just for kids hehe

    Traditionally Modern Food said:
    August 13, 2014 at 4:48 pm

    My all time fav:-) look yummy shannu

    Chitra Jagadish said:
    August 13, 2014 at 8:25 pm

    Wow fruit custard just all time favourite lovely colourful dessert. …

    Sophie33 said:
    August 16, 2014 at 6:15 pm

    Divine dessert! It looked smashing & that is why I made it, but without the glacé cherries though!
    Fabulous is the word! xxx

    mommycookforme said:
    August 18, 2014 at 8:25 am

    Delicious!My favorite dessert, thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

