Brinjal/Eggplant Fry

Posted on


DSC02588

 

Hello there!Hope your weekend was good and you had a good rest πŸ™‚ Well mine was a hectic one as usual…! Week ends are those very busy days for me..with kids running around..everywhere..guests visiting..and ofcourse church!So I dont get much time to cook and usually adjust with some easy to make dishes.. πŸ™‚ So today I happened to have a lot of Brinjals/Eggplant in my veggie tray..Now now..Brinjal is not my kind of veggie 😦 And I mostly buy them only to use them in preparing Sambar…But today I had way too many Eggplants..So I decided to relive those care free,good old Chennai Memories!

Well coming to Chennai memories,I was newly married..the Β year 2006..and I was working at that time..and This was one of those side dishes I used to prepare when I was in a hurry..Ofcourse I used to wake up late,hurry burry,prepare rice,and this dish along with curd/Yoghurt..then I used to rush to my site πŸ™‚ This was one delicious side dish…the taste used to linger on your tongue for quite some time even after you had finished your lunch ages ago!And now after 8 long years ,with 3 kids..so many changes in my life..I still remember that delicious dish!Now I usually prepare this during the Easter Lent when I dont take any Non Veg Food.There is one reason for this.Ours is a family which consumes fish 3 times a day πŸ™‚ (Now dont laugh at me)..This dish,though completely vegetarian has a very similar taste to fish fry..may be beacause of the similarity in its masala πŸ™‚ So we have this as a sidedish for lunch and dinner during the times of Lent!

DSC02591

So let me tell you one thing..Are you in a hurry?Only got 8-10 minutes to spare for cooking a side dish for lunch?Then this is the dish for you!Believe me!You will really love it to the core,even if you are not a Eggplant/Brinjal Lover !!

Ingredients:

  • Eggplants/Brinjal – 3 (big)(thinly sliced into round shape)
  • Red chilli Powder – 1 1/2 tbsp
  • Turmeric powder – 1/4 tsp
  • Crushed Black pepper – 1/2 tsp
  • Fenugreek Powder – 1 fat pinch(I used,optional though)
  • Lime juice – 3 tbsp
  • Salt to taste.
  • Oil for shallow frying the Brinjal/Egg plants.

Method:

  1. Marinate the Eggplant/Brinjal slices with Red Chilli Powder,Turmeric Powder,Crushed Black Pepper,Fenugreek Powder,Lime juice and Salt and leave aside for 5 minutes.
  2. Heat oil in a pan and place the marinated Eggplant slices and fry them on both sides till browned evenly on low flame.
  3. Transfer to a serving plate and Serve with Hot steamed rice and Moru/Curd and Enjoy!
31 thoughts on “Brinjal/Eggplant Fry

    radhikasethi said:
    August 24, 2014 at 6:43 pm

    It looks yum!

    srividhya said:
    August 24, 2014 at 9:08 pm

    Great πŸ™‚

    Aruna Panangipally said:
    August 25, 2014 at 12:10 am

    I absolutely live eggplants. This is so similar to the baigun bhaja made by Bengalis, only tangier. Cannot wait to try it. πŸ™‚

    Ummey @notbikiniready said:
    August 25, 2014 at 1:00 am

    I love eggplants! This looks delicious!

    Traditionally Modern Food said:
    August 25, 2014 at 3:27 am

    Love brinjal:-) looks yum

    Chhapanbhog said:
    August 25, 2014 at 5:38 am

    Wow! never knew brinjal could be so interesting.. Fabulous they look…:)

    Malar said:
    August 25, 2014 at 5:45 am

    Looks very yummy Shannu πŸ™‚ How do you manage 3 kids, OMG you should have lots of patience to write a blog….Kuddos to you dear πŸ™‚

      food passion and love responded:
      August 26, 2014 at 2:42 am

      So sweet of u malar πŸ™‚ The grace of God keeps me going dear..!

    lapetitepaniere said:
    August 25, 2014 at 7:24 am

    It looks really really good, I love Brinjal πŸ™‚

    Chitra Jagadish said:
    August 25, 2014 at 9:03 am

    LOOKS yummylicious Shannu dear. …I still wonder how do you manage with three kids, cooking, blog ufff- hats off dear. ..

    peanutbutterandonion said:
    August 25, 2014 at 11:14 am

    I’m not a huge egg plant fan, unless its smothered in cheese. I never thought to fry them, these are a must try!

    Charanya said:
    August 25, 2014 at 11:24 am

    Yum Shannu ❀

    shalzzzzz said:
    August 25, 2014 at 2:50 pm

    I have one in my pantry. Trying this tomorrow πŸ™‚

    flippenblog said:
    August 25, 2014 at 7:49 pm

    I need to try this! Looks great.

    Erika said:
    August 25, 2014 at 8:43 pm

    Aubergine is not my kind of veggie either 😦 But everything gets better when fried and aubergine is no exception πŸ™‚ Yours look so neat and even!

      food passion and love responded:
      August 26, 2014 at 2:33 am

      True I agree Erika!Frying is sure magical πŸ˜‰ Thanks dear

    tinywhitecottage said:
    August 26, 2014 at 3:05 am

    These look perfectly prepared! I love fried eggplant. This is a wonderful post!

    thehungrymum said:
    August 31, 2014 at 8:09 am

    eggplant rocks my world πŸ˜‰ Looks delish.

Leave a Reply

