MOTICHOOR LADOOS for a special day!!!

Posted on


 

 

DSC03346

Hello every body…Today is a very happy day for me…My Blog “Food Passion and Love” which reflects my penchant for good food and my passion for cooking and my love for my family is turning 1 year old! I cannot express my happiness…I never knew I would travel this much far..Food Passion and Love has given me a lot of happiness in my life.I have made some good friends from different parts of the world..Though I don’t get much time for blogging with my kids running around me and household chores..you can imagine..! Many a times I have felt like quitting..like putting a total fullstop to blogging because of the stresses in day to day life.Now I thank God I didn’t…Now when I sit in front of the Laptop looking at my Blog..I feel tears welling up in my eyes..it truly gives me a feeling of a sense of achievement.

images (1)

The real Blogiversary of Food Passion and Love was on April 2nd ..but due some reasons I could not post or celebrate it here with you all.But what say?Better late than never!

Today is all the more sweeter because today I am posting my 100th post..!Seriously..OMG!Did I cook 100 dishes? Ha Ha Ha..So today I am sharing these sweet news,since its a 2 in one celebration for me!

100-7

Today my post is Motichoor Ladoos.My very very very favourite.

I first had Motichoor Ladoos in Sri Krishna sweets Chennai..I tried one..God..I loved them..I think I could eat 100s of them..really I am not exaggerating! They are extremely irresistible.Infact after eating those ladoos that day ,it had been one of my secret ambitions to make Motichoor Ladoos..though I never mentioned it to any body.I had heard it was a back breaking process to make these ladoos from many of my friends..So I didn’t have the courage to try them until today..

I was totally tensed when I was making these ladoos(Thanks to stories by my dear friends)..but I was overjoyed to see that they turned out to be perfect..I am so happy.Do try it out!

Ingredients:

Oil for Deep frying
Almonds – a few sliced thinly
Boiling Water – 1 or 2 tbsp.
Ghee – 2 tbsp.

For Boondi:
Gram Flour / Besan / Kadala Mavu – 1 cup
Powdered Sooji / Rawa / Semolina – 1 tbsp (Put it in a blender and make into a fine powder)
Water – 1/2 cup or as needed.
Orange Food Colouring – 1/2 tsp.(optional)

For Sugar Syrup:
Sugar – 1 cup
Water – 1/2 cup
Saffron strands – a pinch
Cardamom Powder – 1 tsp

Method:

Step 1: Make the batter
Take gram flour and sooji in a sifter and sieve it in a mixing bowl. Add in water and mix well to form a smooth batter. The batter should be a little thinner than dosa batter. Don’t make it too thin, else the boondi will fall flat. If it is too thick then the boondi wont fall off the ladle. Add in food colouring and mix well Set this aside till you finish making the syrup.

Step 2: Make the sugar syrup
Now take sugar and water in a pan. Mix well so that the sugar gets dissolved in the water. Bring this to a boil. Simmer for 8 to 10 minutess till it forms one string consistency. If you dip the ladle inside the sugar syrup and take it out, then the last drop falling off the ladle should form a string like effect.  Now add in cardamom powder and saffron to this and mix well. Now make sure the syrup stays nice and warm till you finish frying the boondis.

Step 3: Fry the boodis
Heat oil for deep frying. Dont get it too hot. Now take a boondi ladle / perforated spoon ( I used a steel strainer with medium size holes in it). Now take the batter and pour it over the ladle. Using a spoon tap off the ladle, so the boondi will fall through the holes. Fry this on a medium high heat for couple of mins.(Remember each time you are going to fry the batches,wipe clean the laddle with a tissue paper).It shouldn’t get crispy, it should be little on the softer side. Drain the boondi onto a bowl and set aside. Repeat till you finish the batter.

Step 4:  Making ladoos
Now add all the nuts to the boondi and pour the warm syrup over it. Mix well so it gets combined. Now take this in a mixer or food processor. Add a tbsp of boiling water to this and pulse for few times so it gets crushed and becomes one mass. Dont grind it too much or it will get completely mashed up. Now transfer this to a bowl. Dip your hands in ghee and take a small portion from it. Shape into balls and arrange them on a plate. Decorate with a slice of almonds  and enjoy!

7 thoughts on “MOTICHOOR LADOOS for a special day!!!

    MSS said:
    April 23, 2015 at 10:53 am

    Double Congratulations to u ☺

    coconutcraze said:
    April 23, 2015 at 6:04 pm

    Congratulations! Lovely Ladoos! Your photo adds glamour to the celebration!

    Malar said:
    April 23, 2015 at 7:48 pm

    Congrats on your 100th post Shanu!!

    Sophie33 said:
    April 29, 2015 at 9:09 am

    Congrats on your 100th post & on your 1st Blog Birthday too! Yeahhh!
    Cheers to you & your lovely blog with tasty recipes! Hoping more to come! xxxx

Leave a Reply

