OATS CHOCOLATE BALLS

Posted on


DSC03427

 

A few months back , my dear friend Smitha had asked me if I knew any oats recipes.To tell you the truth,I didn’t frankly know any because I had never cooked oats at home.To be frank..like  my kids I am  was a very fussy eater too. I recall my mom telling me the tough times she had making me eat!!In the latter years, when I grew up in my grand parent’s home,I clearly remember the times I truly enjoyed giving a tough time for my grandparents, making them run behind me with a plate of food in their hands..I was the only grand child at that time in my maternal and paternal houses and that too a naughty one!!But then while studying in college,I had to stay in our college hostel,where the food was intolerable.Thats when during my holidays when I went home I started eating almost everything that didn’t bite back!! Now when I run behind my kids with the plate in my hands in my desperate attempts to feed them,my mom laughs at me..saying Enjoy ha ha!!

So to cope with this problem of fussy eaters in the family,I have come up with a few tricks up my sleeve.So this is how this recipe took birth.When I started to make it ,I wasn’t sure how it would turn out.But I am happy!!It was a success..!So Smitha,I keep my word.Here goes the recipe.I am sure all kids will love it!!

Ingredients:

  • Organic Oats – 1 cup
  • Cocoa powder – 2 ½ tbsp.
  • Melted Butter – 3 tbsp.
  • Honey – 3 tbsp.
  • Sprinkles to decorate

Method:

  1. Heat a pan and fry the oats for about 2 to 3 minutes on a low flame or till the raw aroma disappears.Allow to cool.Then grind in a mixer to a fine powder and transfer it to a bowl.
  2. Now to this bowl of powdered oats,add cocoa powder,Melted Butter,Honey.mix well with a spoon.
  3. Apply butter to your palms and gently roll the above mixture into small balls.Decorate with sprinkles or chocolate grains(Your Choice) and serve and Enjoy!!

Note:

  • Frying the oats is entirely optional.I fried because I don’t like the taste of raw oats.
7 thoughts on “OATS CHOCOLATE BALLS

    Sophie33 said:
    April 29, 2015 at 9:08 am

    This is a recipe that I make often, something similar though! They really fill you up too! x

    srividhya said:
    April 29, 2015 at 2:56 pm

    Lovely. Bookmarking 🙂

    MSS said:
    April 29, 2015 at 4:03 pm

    My husband just opened my wordpress and he saw ur post.. he was like ‘wow’ 😊
    Bookmarked!! ☺

    Malar said:
    April 29, 2015 at 5:44 pm

    This is an easy awesome recipe, great to sneak for kids 🙂

Leave a Reply

