FISH CURRY ~ THRISSUR STYLE

Posted on


DSC03430

Hello there!Hailing from the beautiful backwater surrounded Kuttanad in kerala,the dishes usually prepared by my mom had been the typical syrian christian ones..with Non veg mostly sea-food being compulsory three times a day..!Believe me…I am telling the truth…Taken after my mother or Amma as I call her..we too cant almost do without Non- Veg in our diet..well  atleast for lunch and dinner.

Recently after reading a newspaper article on health,me and my hubby decided to avoid meat for two entire weeks..So it would be sea food instead..Fish,Prawns,crab etc..The fish curry I usually prepare at home is the typical Kottayam Style Red Fish Curry..I love it and can never ever get fed up of it…ever..same goes for my 3 kids too.. 🙂 .Occassionally I prepare Thenga aracha Meen curry~Trivandrum Style for my husband..when he craves for Mil’s Fish curry.

One day ,my hubby told me about the Fish curry he had eaten on his visit to his friend’s home in Thrissur during his college days..Eversince he has been asking me to prepare that for him.I asked my friend here who hails from Thrissur and she gave me the recipe.What my hubby said was true!Its extremely delicious!!

Ingredients:

  • Fish – 1kg (Cleaned and cubed)
  • Coconut Milk- Take from  1 coconut
  • Shallots(small onion) – 3
  • Water- 2cups
  • Ginger- 1 inch Piece
  • Green Chillies- 2(slit into 2)
  • Chilly Powder- 3 1/2tsp(depending on your spice levels)
  • Turmeric Powder- 1/2 tsp
  • Fish Tamarind (kudampuli) – 3 to 4 pieces
  • Salt -to taste
  • Curry Leaves-2 spigs

Tempering:

  1. Coconut oil – 2 tsp
  2. Fenugreek powder – 1 pinch
  3. Chilli powder – 1/2 tsp.
  4. Shallot – 1 (sliced)

Method:

  1. Wash and soak kudampuli in 1/4 cup of warm water and keep aside.
  2. Crush ginger and small onion together in a pestle and mortar
  3. Take a manchatti/deep pan.Pour the coconut milk(make coconut milk by adding 2 cups of water ) into the kadai and add chilly powder,turmeric powder,ginger-small onion crushed mixture ,salt, curry leaves,and kudampuli and Mix well.
  4. Now add fish .Place this Manchatti/Deep pan over the fire/stove over low to medium flame(Taking care that the coconut milk doesnt curdle)
  5. Allow the fish to cook till the gravy becomes thick …When the curry is 3/4 th done  add  green chilly slits  and curry leaves..
  6. Let the gravy become neither too thick nor too thin (a semi medium gravy).Add more salt if required.Turn off the flame once the fish gets cooked.Keep aside.
  7.  Heat a pan and add 2tsp of coconut oil ,add a sliced shallot and saute well.Now add chilli powder and fenugreek powder.Turn off the flame and pour this into the Fish curry.Serve hot and Enjoy!!

Note:

  • I suggest allowing this fish curry to sit for a day in the fridge and serving it the next day.The flavours merge and becomes more tasty that way!

 

4 thoughts on “FISH CURRY ~ THRISSUR STYLE

    lapetitepaniere said:
    October 1, 2015 at 3:46 am

    It looks absolutely delicious! 🙂

    Linda Fernandes said:
    October 1, 2015 at 11:12 am

    Wooow yummy

Leave a Reply

